Reprise

(If anyone is listening)

I mean this not in the common English sense of a repetition but rather in the French sense of renewal, a new beginning.  I started this as a food blog in the quite traditional sense, i.e. I cook something, I write about it, I post the recipe and hopefully some enticing pictures. It never really took off which I suppose was partly due to laziness or distraction, although I also blame it on my discomfort with the format.  I am not a photographer. The camera that I have is so worthless I don’t bother taking it out of its case (my phone is similar), and I just have a hard time interrupting the rhythm of my cooking to arrange and take pictures. Somehow without the visuals I felt like my posts would fall flat, and I lacked motivation to write them.

Fast forward to today.  About two and a half months ago I lost my job and about two days ago (well exactly two days ago) I deactivated my facebook account, so I now find myself with a lot of time on my hands and a frustrated desire for self-expression.  Hmmm, sounds like a blog is in order.  I don’t know how this is going to go exactly other than that I intend to write about what is on my mind which rather atypically often is food or wine.  I do intend to write about food that I actually make and when I do so I will include recipes (if I use one), but I think the total product will be more free form than a standard food blog.  For example: the first post (other than this one) that I intend to write is both a summary of a wine dinner that I went to recently and a rumination on some philosophies of cooking and dining as played out both in that dinner and in Thomas Keller’s The French Laundry Cookbook.  And now that I’ve advertised it in writing, I have to actually follow through, right? Stay tuned . . .

Leave a Reply

